Skip to content

Creations at Abbi Creation Fashion Internship, Ghana

October 30, 2011

Sunny days and calm nights. Ghana was a dream I woke up from a little over a month ago. Here are some photos of the dresses I made during my fashion internship at Abbi Creation in Nungua. Above is the dashiki dress I learned how to make. One of the few times I’ve designed and sewn free hand. I love this dress, it short, sexy, fun and funky. Definitely not your regular dashiki shirt. I never knew that they sold dashiki fabric my the yard and you could craft it into anything you want. More pics below. I’m selling this dress in different sizes in my Etsy Shop. It’s one of my best sellers.

Me trying on the dress I made for my roomie.

My roomie trying on the dress. She found the fabric in the market place and was like “can you make something for me?” Lol. The jokes with the Dream Ghana crew.

Through the internship I learned how to sew on an industrial sewing machine, an industrial serger, and hand-crank non/electric Singer machine.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    November 8, 2011 10:37 pm

    More amazing shots! Love your pink dashiki dress! So funky and cute. GREAT work my dear. xo

  2. November 10, 2011 6:00 pm

    I like the dashiki dress, haven’t seen that in a while, and the dress for your roommate, that’s a great touch, very nice. 🙂

  3. Zenista permalink*
    November 13, 2011 5:41 am

    Thanks. I’m glad you like fashiongist.com. I enjoy your site as well. 🙂

  4. Daisy permalink
    January 11, 2012 2:15 am

    Please where can i locate you guys? Really would luv to have my stuffs designed & sewn by you. Hope to get a reply ASAP…Thank you

  5. Zenista permalink*
    January 25, 2012 12:55 am

    I’m located in Toronto, Canada. Please email me at tygris@gmail.com. Abbi Creation is located in Ghana in Teshie. You can find them by searching Abbi Creation on facebook or going to: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002370920951&ref=ts

  6. Jacqueline Sewornu permalink
    March 8, 2013 1:49 pm

    Hi please I would like to enroll for internship at Abbi Creations. Am in Ashesi University College in the Eastern Region. My name is Jacqueline Sewornu. please this is my email address:
    jacqueline.sewornu@ashesi.edu.gh or seylov@gmail.com

  7. hybrid permalink
    June 12, 2013 6:33 am

    i really need a dashiki skirt have been searching ghana for it, am a male n i want it so bad, just need to know hw i can get it, n i have friends that also want it, pls holla back!!!

    • Zenista permalink*
      July 2, 2013 11:06 pm

      Hi,
      Contact Abbi creations. They’ll be able to make one for you.

Leave a Reply

